9781760111984

The Cut Out

Author Jack Heath

Publisher Allen & Unwin

Genre Children's fiction

What does the Secret Service want with a 14 year old boy? An action thriller for readers of Cherub or The Last Thirteen.

A teenager’s world turns upside down when he’s mistaken for a ruthless young spy.

Fero isn’t a spy.

But he looks exactly like someone who is: Troy Maschenov — a ruthless enemy agent.

What starts as a case of mistaken identity quickly turns into a complicated and dangerous plan. Fero is recruited to fight for his country. He will have to impersonate Troy, enter enemy territory, hunt down a missing agent and bring her home in time to prevent a devastating terror attack.

Fero is in way over his head. Hastily trained, loaded up with gadgets and smuggled across the border, he discovers the truth about espionage.

Getting in is easy. Getting out alive is hard.

Short-listed, Aurealis Awards – Best Children’s Fiction, 2015
Long-listed, CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers, 2016

For ages 10-14


Jack Heath exploded on the Australian publishing scene as a teenager with his debut novel The Lab which was published to high acclaim. Since then Jack’s been published in the US and UK, and shortlisted for numerous awards including the Aurealis Award for Best Sci Fi Novel as well as the Nottinghamshire Best Book Award, and in 2009 was the ACT Young Australian of the Year. Jack Heath’s most recent novel is Replica.

Join the discussion

Join in the conversation about “The Cut Out”